Quiet Time – How to read your bible

Posted: August 16, 2011 in The Church

Hey guys!

 

What on Earth is a quiet time???  The phrase “quiet time” really isn’t all that significant.  It’s just a term that many people use when they are praying, or studying God’s word.  It’s their quiet time between them and God.

Now many people think that when you read your bible you need to study it and pray for hours on end.  That if you don’t “you’re not a good christian.”  Well that’s a bunch of crap.  I quiet time can be anything from just reading 5-10 verses, to studying the bible for hours on end.

We live in a sinful world, and everyone has a sinful nature by default.  You can’t fight it!  We are either growing closer to God, or falling away from him.  There is no staying neutral.

 

“I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot.  I wish you were one or the other!  So, because you are lukewarm – neither hot nor cold – I am about to spit you out of my mouth.”   – Revelation 3:15

 

I just wanted to through out an idea out there for you all…..

I am reading the bible from the beginning.  From Genesis til….. whenever I decide to do something different I guess.  I figured, I have heard all these stories about Jonah and the Whale and Noah and his ark, but have I actually studied and read them???  Not entirely!  I would love it if you would like o join me!! Just start by reading 5 minutes a  day!!!  5 MINUTES!!!

 

– Matt

Leave a comment